Talladega NASCAR: Chase Elliot gets Chevrolet’s first 2019 win – NASCAR

Hendrick Motorsports’ Chase Elliott scored his and Chevrolet’s first win of the NASCAR Cup Series season at Talladega in a race blighted by two big accidents.

As the Chevrolet runners grouped together in their green-flag pit strategy, Elliott was able to rise from 13th on the grid to take fourth in stage one, before going on to win the second 55-lapper.

With the Ford and Toyota teams pitting a lap after their rivals, Elliott was able to cycle to the lead of the pack, and engage in a slipstreaming battle with the likes of Ricky Stenhouse Jr’s Roush Fenway Racing machine and Joe Gibbs Racing’s Kyle Busch.

This continued until lap 182 of 188, when the race was red-flagged following a violent accident involving Chris Buescher’s JTG Daugherty Racing car and Matt DiBenedetto of Leavine Family Racing.

The #37 of Buescher was tipped into the outside wall by the Stewart-Haas Ford of Aric Almirola, and was subsequently rammed broadside by DiBenedetto, with Buescher’s car riding over the top of the #95 Toyota.

Martin Truex Jr and Justin Haley were also involved, with the 2017 champion being the only one able to take the restart.

After a short delay, racing resumed, with Elliott in fifth place and reigning champion Joey Logano leading.

Elliott hit the front with three laps to go, before a caution on the final lap secured his victory as Kyle Larson’s #42 Chip Ganassi Chevrolet somersaulted on the infield.

Larson and Jeffrey Earnhardt had been fired across the track as William Byron rebounded into them after being tapped into the wall, with Larson’s car then becoming airborne.

All the drivers involved managed to extricate themselves from their car.

Elliott’s Hendrick team-mate Alex Bowman took second, as rookie Ryan Preece made it a Chevrolet 1-2-3 by taking third for JTG Daugherty.

Daniel Hemric was fourth for Richard Childress Racing, ahead of Logano, who led 37 laps – the second highest after Elliott’s 44.

Kurt Busch (Chip Ganassi), Ryan Newman (Roush Fenway) Brendan Gaughan, Almirola and Kyle Busch (the leading Toyota runner) rounded out the top 10.

Stage one fell to German Racing underdog Ty Dillion, who was able to save fuel after an early caution to narrowly pip Bowman.

That caution was caused by Darrell Wallace Jr spinning and sending Michael McDowell into the wall, with Kevin Harvick and Denny Hamlin also unable to continue much further having sustained heavy damage in the ensuing pile-up.

Race results

Pos Driver Team Car Laps
1 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 188
2 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 188
3 Ryan Preece JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 188
4 Joey Logano Team Penske Ford 188
5 Daniel Hemric Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 188
6 Kurt Busch Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 188
7 Ryan Newman Roush Fenway Racing Ford 188
8 Brendan Gaughan Beard Motorsports Chevrolet 188
9 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 188
10 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 188
11 Corey LaJoie Go FAS Racing Ford 188
12 Daniel Suarez Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 188
13 Brad Keselowski Team Penske Ford 188
14 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet 188
15 Ryan Blaney Team Penske Ford 188
16 Paul Menard Wood Brothers Racing Ford 188
17 Ty Dillon Germain Racing Chevrolet 188
18 Reed Sorenson Premium Motorsports Chevrolet 188
19 Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 188
20 Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 188
21 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 188
22 Jeffrey Earnhardt XCI Racing Toyota 187
23 David Ragan Front Row Motorsports Ford 187
24 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet 187
25 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing Ford 187
26 Ross Chastain Premium Motorsports Chevrolet 187
27 Parker Kligerman Gaunt Brothers Racing Toyota 186
28 Cody Ware Petty Ware Racing Chevrolet 184
29 Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 182
30 Chris Buescher JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet 181
31 Matt DiBenedetto Leavine Family Racing Toyota 181
32 J.J. Haley Spire Motorsports Chevrolet 180
33 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet 178
34 Landon Cassill StarCom Racing Chevrolet 154
35 Stanton Barrett Rick Ware Racing Chevrolet 132
36 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota 80
37 Matt Tifft Front Row Motorsports Ford 11
38 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing Ford 11
39 Darrell Wallace Jr. Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet 10
40 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports Ford 10

Drivers’ standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Kyle Busch 400
2 Joey Logano 380
3 Denny Hamlin 366
4 Kevin Harvick 349
5 Brad Keselowski 313
6 Martin Truex Jr. 311
7 Kurt Busch 287
8 Clint Bowyer 280
9 Ryan Blaney 277
10 Chase Elliott 267
11 Aric Almirola 260
12 Daniel Suarez 235
13 Jimmie Johnson 234
14 Austin Dillon 216
15 Ryan Newman 216
16 Paul Menard 213
17 Erik Jones 212
18 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 208
19 Kyle Larson 204
20 William Byron 198
21 Alex Bowman 186
22 Ty Dillon 172
23 Chris Buescher 167
24 Matt DiBenedetto 142
25 Ryan Preece 126
26 Darrell Wallace Jr. 110
27 David Ragan 109
28 Daniel Hemric 97
29 Michael McDowell 94
30 Corey LaJoie 81
31 Matt Tifft 80
32 Landon Cassill 62
33 Jamie McMurray 19
34 Cody Ware 18
35 Quin Houff 15
36 Reed Sorenson 7
37 Casey Mears 1
38 Ross Chastain 0
39 Parker Kligerman 0
40 B.J. McLeod 0
41 Brendan Gaughan 0
42 Tyler Reddick 0
43 Bayley Currey 0
44 Jeb Burton 0
45 Garrett Smithley 0
46 D.J. Kennington 0
47 Joey Gase 0
48 Timmy Hill 0
49 Gray Gaulding 0
50 Ryan Truex 0

Source link

Articles You May Like

WTCR champion Gabriele Tarquini tries Hyundai World Rally Car – WRC
Honda brings second F1 engine upgrade of 2019 to Paul Ricard – F1
Barcelona MotoGP: Marc Marquez fastest in first practice – MotoGP
Rins pips Quartararo by 0.036s in Barcelona MotoGP FP3 – MotoGP
Crutchlow questions Michelin’s Mugello MotoGP tyre hole conclusions – MotoGP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *