Elliott resists Truex Jr at Watkins Glen for first NASCAR win – NASCAR

Hendrick Motorsports driver Chase Elliott earned his first career NASCAR Cup series victory after surviving significant late-race pressure from reigning champion Martin Truex Jr at Watkins Glen.

Elliott, who won the second stage and had battled for the lead throughout the race, was never more than one second clear of Truex during the final 15 laps of the 90-tour event.

Furniture Row Racing’s Truex threatened him most significantly on the final lap, after Elliott had locked up at the tight Turn 1 right-hander, allowing Truex to close up.

But Elliott withstood the pressure, eventually claiming victory by 7s as Truex ran out of fuel with two corners to go and trundled home second.

Elliott had finished second on eight occasions in his 98 previous NASCAR Cup starts and books his place in the playoffs with the victory.

Truex became Elliott’s main challenger after Joe Gibbs Racing’s Kyle Busch was eliminated from contention at his second and final pitstop.

With a caution deployed as a result of a breakdown for Matt DiBenedetto, almost all the field dived into the pits at the same time.

A fuel hose issue meant that Busch failed to receive sufficient fuel at the pitstop and had to sacrifice his race lead by making another stop one lap later.

Despite dropping to 24th, Busch battled back through the field in the closing stages, eventually finishing in third place.

He had fought with Elliott throughout stages one and two, with the two exchanging positions on several occasions.

Busch was in position to win the opening stage, but sacrificed the points by pitting before the end of in order to maintain track position at the start of stage two.

Elliott opted for the same strategy and Truex cycled to the front of the field to take the stage win as a result.

Daniel Suarez finished the race in fourth place, passing his JGR team-mate Erik Jones late on.

After finishing with all four cars in the top 10 at the last round, JGR ended with three in the top five at Watkins Glen, with Denny Hamlin 13th.

Despite starting from pole and challenging for the lead early-on, he also dropped out of contention during the final phase of pitstops.

Hamlin left the pitlane with the wheel gun hose wrapped around the left-rear tyre and picked up a drivethrough penalty as a result and had to come back from 25th.

Kyle Larson and Jaime McMurray finished sixth and seventh respectively after running in the top 10 throughout the majority of the race.

William Byron earned another top 10 finish in eighth, ahead of Kurt Busch, who recovered from starting 36th on the grid as a result of an inspection infringement to finish ninth.

Despite taking six victories so far in 2018, Kevin Harvick finishing 10th after starting in 15th.

Results – 90 laps

Pos Driver Team Car
1 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
2 Martin Truex Jr. Furniture Row Racing Toyota
3 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
4 Daniel Suarez Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
5 Erik Jones Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
6 Kyle Larson Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
7 Jamie McMurray Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
8 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
9 Kurt Busch Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
10 Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
11 Clint Bowyer Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
12 Ryan Blaney Team Penske Ford
13 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
14 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
15 A.J. Allmendinger JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
16 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Roush Fenway Racing Ford
17 Brad Keselowski Team Penske Ford
18 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports Ford
19 Ryan Newman Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
20 Chris Buescher JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet
21 Kasey Kahne Leavine Family Racing Chevrolet
22 Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing Ford
23 Ty Dillon Germain Racing Chevrolet
24 Parker Kligerman Gaunt Brothers Racing Toyota
25 Darrell Wallace Jr. Richard Petty Motorsports Chevrolet
26 David Ragan Front Row Motorsports Ford
27 Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
28 Paul Menard Wood Brothers Racing Ford
29 Matt Kenseth Roush Fenway Racing Ford
30 Jimmie Johnson Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
31 Landon Cassill StarCom Racing Chevrolet
32 Ross Chastain Premium Motorsports Chevrolet
33 Matt DiBenedetto Go FAS Racing Ford
34 Cole Whitt TriStar Motorsports Chevrolet
35 Spencer Gallagher BK Racing Toyota
36 Josh Bilicki Rick Ware Racing Ford
37 Joey Logano Team Penske Ford

Source link

Articles You May Like

M-Sport: Sebastien Ogier’s WRC title fightback is already on – WRC
Robert Kubica driving ‘70% left-handed’ in F1 after rally injury – F1
Kahne felt he couldn’t accept 2019 drive offers – NASCAR
NASCAR Cup champion Truex uncertain about his Furniture Row future – NASCAR
WRC Rally Germany: Sebastien Ogier tumbles down order with puncture – WRC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *