Spa 24 Hours Blancpain GT: Dries Vanthoor puts WRT Audi on pole – GT

Local driver Dries Vanthoor took pole position for this weekend’s Spa 24 Hours Blancpain GT round for the WRT Audi team.

The 20-year-old Belgian topped the ‘superpole’ session for the fastest 20 cars from Thursday’s aggregate qualifying in the factory Audi R8 LMS he will share with Christopher Mies and Alex Riberas in the double-points Blancpain GT Series Endurance Cup round.

Vanthoor set two laps good enough for the pole, jumping to the top of the times with a 2m18.605s and then improving to a 2m18.575s on the second of the two laps allowed to each driver.

That put him six tenths up on second-placed Maxime Martin in the best of the R-Motorsport Aston Martin V12 Vantages.

Vanthoor, who leads the BGTS Endurance Cup with his team-mates, said: “I went out and thought I’d give it everything I had, which is what I did.

“The car was absolutely amazing, so congratulations to everyone behind the pitwall.”

The 2m19.183s from Martin put him nearly two tenths up on Nico Muller’s 2m19.366s in the second of WRT’s factory entries.

Davide Rigon took fourth in SMP Racing’s AF Corse-run Ferrari 488 GT3 on a 2m19.433s after a track limits violation meant he lost a 2m19.100s time that would have put him second on the grid.

Fifth place was taken by Kelvin van der Linde in the Land Motorsport Audi on a 2m19.493s.

Come Ledogar was only two hundredths behind in sixth place in the Garage 59 McLaren 650S GT3 in a 2m19.512s.

Top BMW driver was Philipp Eng in the Walkenhorst M6 GT3 that had topped first qualifying in eighth place.

Frederic Makowiecki set the best Porsche time of the session to take ninth, ahead of Mirko Bortolotti in the fastest Lamborghini.

Raffaele Marciello, who starred in last year’s race on the way to third position, crashed his Auto Sport Promotion Mercedes-AMG GT3 at Les Combes in the short warm-up session and took no part in the ‘superpole’ session.

Superpole times

Pos Driver Team Car Time Gap
1 Dries Vanthoor Audi Sport Team WRT Audi 2m18.578s
2 Maxime Martin R-Motorsport Aston Martin 2m19.183s 0.605s
3 Nico Muller Audi Sport Team WRT Audi 2m19.366s 0.788s
4 Davide Rigon SMP Racing Ferrari 2m19.433s 0.855s
5 Kelvin van der Linde Montaplast by Land-Motorsport Audi 2m19.493s 0.915s
6 Come Ledogar Garage 59 McLaren 2m19.512s 0.934s
7 Markus Winkelhock Audi Sport Team Sainteloc Audi 2m19.515s 0.937s
8 Philipp Eng Walkenhorst Motorsport BMW 2m19.517s 0.939s
9 Frederic Makowiecki Manthey Racing Porsche 2m19.649s 1.071s
10 Mirko Bortolotti GRT Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini 2m19.697s 1.119s
11 Maxime Soulet Bentley Team M-Sport Bentley 2m19.706s 1.128s
12 Laurens Vanthoor KUS TEAM75 Bernhard Porsche 2m19.894s 1.316s
13 Daniel Serra Belgian Audi Club Team WRT Audi 2m20.097s 1.519s
14 Maro Engel Mercedes-AMG Team Black Falcon Mercedes 2m20.167s 1.589s
15 Nicky Catsburg Rowe Racing BMW 2m20.239s 1.661s
16 Jamie Green Attempto Racing Audi 2m20.253s 1.675s
17 Edoardo Mortara Mercedes-AMG Team Mann-Filter Mercedes 2m20.519s 1.941s
18 Franck Perera GRT Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini 2m20.546s 1.968s
19 Albert Costa Emil Frey Lexus Racing Lexus/Toyota 2m20.607s 2.029s

Source link

Articles You May Like

MotoGP Austria: Ducati’s Lorenzo defeats Marquez in late battle – MotoGP
Brown: McLaren needs a better car before gambling on young drivers – F1
Verstappen: Honda’s rate of F1 engine component changes misleading – F1
Scott Redding apologises to Aprilia MotoGP team for Austria rant – MotoGP
Rossi: ‘Character’ helping me deal with Yamaha woe better than Vinales – MotoGP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *