Josef Newgarden beats IndyCar title rival Dixon to Toronto pole – IndyCar

Reigning IndyCar champion Josef Newgarden took his third pole of the season for of this weekend’s race in Toronto.

Newgarden set his best lap of the session, 59.4956 seconds, as he took the chequered flag, after starting the final qualifying session last in the ‘Fast Six’ segment.

Having lost out on a win at Iowa last weekend, Newgarden’s pursuit of championship leader Scott Dixon continues as his title rival qualified second and prevented yet another Penske 1-2-3, with Simon Pagenaud and Will Power locking out the second row of the grid.

Andretti’s Alexander Rossi and Ryan Hunter-Reay completed the top six.

Qualifying started in the wet, with the first qualifying group setting their times on the wet compound Firestone tyres before conditions began to dry.

A dry racing line continued to emerge throughout the session until the rain returned just before the ‘Fast Six’.

Takuma Sato was the only man in the top 12 to set his best time on the primary tyres, the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing driver felt more comfortable on the black-banded tyres.

He finished the day seventh quickest, missing out progressing to the final part of qualifying by just 0.1639s.

Jordan King took eighth ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports’s James Hinchcliffe, who span over the line just before the end of the round of 12 in his home event.

His team-mate Robert Wickens, who started the round of 12 on the primary tyre before switching to the red-walled tyres, finished 10th.

Conor Daly, who replaced Gabby Chaves at Harding Racing for this weekend, was 11th and Matheus Leist completed the top 12.

Chip Ginassi Racing’s Ed Jones brought out the red flags early in the session when he span in wet conditions and stopped on track.

He will start tomorrow’s race from the back of the grid.

Qualifying result

Pos Driver Team Car Gap
1 Josef Newgarden Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 59.4956s
2 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda 0.1964s
3 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 0.2674s
4 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 0.3862s
5 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1.1317s
6 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1.1659s
7 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda -0.4244
8 Jordan King Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet -0.4094
9 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda -0.3375
10 Robert Wickens Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda -0.3251
11 Conor Daly Harding Racing Dallara/Chevrolet -0.1823
12 Matheus Leist AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet -0.0428
13 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 15.2813s
14 Marco Andretti Andretti Herta Dallara/Honda 0.6765s
15 Tony Kanaan AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Chevrolet 15.4735s
16 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 0.6882s
17 Sebastien Bourdais Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 15.6473s
18 Max Chilton Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet 0.7738s
19 Rene Binder Juncos Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 16.3972s
20 Charlie Kimball Carlin Dallara/Chevrolet 0.9357s
21 Ed Jones Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Honda
22 Zach Veach Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1.0608s
23 Zachary Claman Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1.1460s

Source link

Articles You May Like

Pol Espargaro must do better and ‘use full potential’ – KTM boss – MotoGP
False rumours of Michael Schumacher move to Mallorca clarified – F1
Robert Kubica surprised to enjoy non-racing Williams F1 team role – F1
Raffaele Marciello secures Suzuka 10 Hours IGTC Mercedes seat – GT
M-Sport: Sebastien Ogier’s WRC title fightback is already on – WRC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *